Faculty Participants

The research mentors for the REU projects come from the departments of chemistry and chemical and biological engineering. In addition to faculty mentors, REU students will take part in a mentored exchange program. To provide each REU student with exposure to research in the other discipline, each student will spend two hours per week shadowing work in the other discipline (e.g., a chemistry student will spend two hours per week in a chemical engineering lab and vice versa).  The exchange will occur during the last five weeks of the REU.  The exchange will allow each student to serve as a host for another REU student in his/her home laboratory as well as the shadowing researcher.

 

The following is a list of faculty mentors participating in the REU program:

Professor Stephen Boyes 

Department of Chemistry

Colorado School of Mines

Phone: (303) 273 3633

E-mail: sboyes@mines.edu

Professor Ning Wu 

Department of Chemical Engineering

Colorado School of Mines

Phone: (303) 273 3702

E-mail: ningwu@mines.edu

Professor Nanette Boyle 

Department of Chemical Engineering

Colorado School of Mines

Phone: (303) 273 2024

E-mail: nboyle@mines.edu

Professor Andrew Herring 

Department of Chemical Engineering

Colorado School of Mines

Phone: (303) 384 2082

E-mail: aherring@mines.edu

Professor Daniel Knauss 

Department of Chemistry

Colorado School of Mines

Phone: (303) 273 3625

E-mail: dknauss@mines.edu

Professor Melissa Krebs 

Department of Chemical Engineering

Colorado School of Mines

Phone: (303) 273 3983

E-mail: mdkrebs@mines.edu

Professor Keith Neeves 

Department of Chemical Engineering

Colorado School of Mines

Phone: (303) 273 3191

E-mail: kneeves@mines.edu

Professor Alan Sellinger 

Department of Chemistry

Colorado School of Mines

Phone: (303) 384 2586

E-mail: aselli@mines.edu

Professor Brian Trewyn 

Department of Chemistry

Colorado School of Mines

Phone: (303) 384 2224

E-mail: btrewyn@mines.edu

Professor Kim Williams 

Department of Chemistry

Colorado School of Mines

Phone: (303) 273 3245

E-mail: krwillia@mines.edu

Professor Colin Wolden 

Department of Chemical Engineering

Colorado School of Mines

Phone: (303) 273 3544

E-mail: cwolden@mines.edu

Professor David Wu 

Department of Chemistry

Colorado School of Mines

Phone: (303) 384 2066

E-mail: dwu@mines.edu